Hello, Joe and STOers! Earlier this week, I posted about a plan to get enough Zen for a Mudd’s Choice Pack by the end of the year, having to get what I can within 300 days in case the Dilithium Exchange is backlogged ~60 days by the time I make my final offer for Zen.

These won’t be extremely long blogs (and not pretty with pictures, unfortunately), but I hope it’s enough detail to let you see reasonably about how much I’m doing and how effective it is.

CHANGE FROM INITIAL PLAN

  1. I’m using 12 characters instead of 10.
    * I used 1 extra Federation character for Contraband turn-ins. Since it’s being logged into daily, it’s also doing Admiralty as well as Reputations as current Marks and upcoming Mark Boxes allow
    * I’m using 1 extra KDF character to farm Contraband. Contraband farming has been extremely useful, but I’ll need to see if this extra KDF (who isn’t Level 4 in Marauding and doesn’t have a great DOFF lineup) will continue or just turn in others’ Contraband. Or I may grab some better quality DOFFs to hit the Contraband DOFF missions better.
  2. I’m not buying Contraband like I thought I’d need to. I had enough Contraband earned in 3-4 days to give 3 characters a week’s worth of Contraband each to turn in. This may mean I can use the EC to buy Contraband to help make up for low Dilithium-earning weeks (like this upcoming week as it’s a 2-week Galactic Red Alert for PC but there won’t be enough completions in the first week to get the Event’s extra Dilithium from daily runs).

WEEKLY UPDATE

So what did Week #1 get me? Quite a bit, actually. For running and checking Admiralty once a day (a couple days had 2 checks as I was still setting up my exact lineup of characters), running Duty Officer missions that award Contraband, and running the Winter Event for some extra day Dilithium, we’ve got…

  • DILITHIUM: I earned and refined ~221,000 Dilithium across 12 characters. This is equivalent to 442 Zen.
    • That’s ~99,000 Dilithium ahead of where I need to be for an average week to make my goal. I went ahead and posted that Dilithium for Zen, but my plan on sales is to post every month at longest and perhaps every 2 weeks at shortest.
    • To be fair…January 1st – January 5th were extra Dilithium days on the Winter Event. That’s likely ~87,500 extra Dilithium that normal farming methods would not have gotten. Still, that would be ~11,500 Dilithium more than planned. That’s not a lot extra, but beating a goal one week allows some leeway in a future week. πŸ˜‰
  • EC: I stashed away ~5,387,000 Energy Credits. As the primary use for this is Contraband purchasing and assuming a price of 62,000 EC per Contraband, I can buy ~87 Contraband, enough for 2 characters to get a week’s worth of Contraband turn-ins.
    • Some EC has to go to Reputation daily projects, so this isn’t the full extent of EC earnings for the week. A chunk of that should come back in vendoring the gear from the Reputation reward boxes.
  • ENDEAVORS: I did not open any Endeavor boxes. That will likely be part of Week 2’s update. I am attempting to do as many Hard-difficulty dailies and any Universal Endeavors that are relatively easy to do. This week has 2 Easy, 3 Medium, 4 Hard, and 2 Universal Endeavor reward boxes.

NEXT POST: Combat Testing an 8-weapon 2-hangar Ship for the Seneca Build Series.

My next post is intended to be a continuation of the Seneca F2P build series, looking at an 8-weapon 2-hangar ship and how much difference in performance those extra 2 weapons afford us. If I can get the time, I’ll test and parse a both 5/3 2-hangar ship and a 4/4 2-hangar ship.

Until then, take care and continue enjoying STO!

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

  1. Hello, as per update to comment on last week post I’ve refined so far 604100 units of dilithium on my 13 toons (151700 was an initial input on 7th of january and 755800 is a totall ammount that is sitting currently on my account). So far I was able to refine almost constantly 8000k per day per toon except first two days when I simply does not have any dil to refine on 5 of my characters. The refiend ammount of dil could be higher but in few cases i was forced to finished some long forgotten rep projects in order to free up slot in reputation so I’ve spend 181500 of dil for those + in 2 cases I just cannot help myself to finish some projects for sake of completion of the builds on those toons πŸ˜‰
    As per method, it turned out that except daily reputation, events, endeavours (if are easy to done) I’m regulary launching Admirality (these dilithium bonus from Ferengi missions does the job) on almost all of the characters and in some cases I’m also running contraband missions (6 toons are KDF or allied with) + some doff missions that got more than avarage dil rewards like dilithium mining or resettle colonists.
    Last but not leasty the only 2 reasons why I’ve maintain these strict daily refining routine is beacuse:
    1. I’ve prepared excel spreadsheet so it gives some structure to this and, well as in case of typical checklist – that part of brain responsible for reward is activating πŸ˜‰
    2. I’m working from home and my job is preety repetive so I can do the refining without impacting my daily performance but not sure if it would be the case in normal job.
    Anyway I’m still progressing with this and if my calculation are correct I’ve refined equivalent of 1208 of ZEN during this week.

    Like

    1. My apologies for not replying earlier!

      I’m also having to use a spreadsheet. ha ha! But I have my need-to-do list pretty well straight-forward now.

      * 7 Federation characters turn in Contraband.
      * 6 Klingon characters farm Contraband.
      * All work on Reputations (where Marks are available to do so) and getting the Ferengi Tour of Duty bonus dilithium pool, keeping it up and ready as much as possible.
      * I’m doing all the Events, with specific characters chosen based on needs for Marks and how large a bonus dilithium pool they still have.

      The spreadsheet is to keep me in line with how much dilithium each character needs to make each day and, as I get closer to the goal, I can estimate how much longer it’d take to complete my goal.

      I’ll hope to have a more detailed update ready for the weekend.

      I’m glad your progression is going well! Even if you don’t make it fully, you should be in line for a significant discount off the price you’re aiming for. Honestly, I’d say if you could get the out-of-pocket cost to $90 or less, that’s be the sweet spot (yes, you’ll be spending money, but no more than what 3 C-Store ships would have been at full price).

      I’ll be interested in doing a side-by-side comparison of our progressions, if you’re up for posting occasional updates yourself.

      Like

      1. Hey, no problem! Also was a bit busy this week, and darn – spare time seems to be a very rare commodity this days πŸ˜‰

        As per spreadsheet I can say that without it I’ll probably would give up already or spend that dilithium on upgrades or some rep projects, but it looks like that this target is reachable, maybe even will have enought zen for some other purchases, who knows… I just don’t want to spend real money anymore unless some real must-have apper in Z-store ;).

        In case of updates I’ll gladly share how things progressing on my side maybe some interesting findings will came out from this project. Also I’m all hands on a board for side-by-side comparison of progression πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started