Good day, Joe and STOers! With all the talk of the Dilithium Exchange being effectively broken, I decided to take on a large-scale task for 2023.

I’m looking to pick up a Mudd Choice Pack at no additional cost.

YOU CAN’T DO THIS FOR FREE!

Oh, no. I didn’t say this was intended for Free to Play (“F2P”) players. I’ve put in a ton of real cash and ground out quite a bit of Dilithium for Zen to get what I have. To not use those resources would be setting me back about a decade!…Plus, it’d be hard to filter my Admiralty roster by when I got what ships and how. :p

No, this will be a “no additional cost” project. The only basic rule is I can’t use Dilithium (“Dil”), Energy Credit (“EC”), or Zen balances prior to December 31st, 2022, to get to my intended target. Other than that, everything is fair game!

EVERYTHING!? EVEN BOTS?

Oh…well, that’s against the Terms of Service for one, but no, this needs to be all manual inputs. No automation will be used aside from the game’s Lifetime Subscription’s auto-refinement for Dilithium and its 500 Zen monthly stipend.

OKAY, SO WHAT’S YOUR PLAN?

Okay, here we go.

I’m looking to grab up 14,750 Zen without any additional spending involved.

Here are the rules (may be broken here or there as forgetfulness happens):

1) Project will run for 300 days (to ensure enough time on the DilEx to get Zen from Dil) over at least 10 characters. More characters may turn their Marks into Dilithium, or the below-mentioned new Recruit may be in addition to my 10 regulars.
2) I can’t use previous Zen (1920 Zen) or Dil (~1,050,000) unless it’s estimated to be the final Dil offer I can list before end-of-year sales and I wouldn’t make it otherwise. Lifetime Zen is fair game (already have a Lifetime Sub, so it’s no additional cost. Plus, it’s auto-generated.).
3) No using bots or automatic action scripts/apps; all actions are done manually.
4) Only EC earned from in-game activities (e.g.: vendoring junk, opening Endeavor boxes, selling Summer and Winter Event items) is allowed for Contraband purchasing. This prevents use of Lock Box item selling to accelerate EC earnings.
5) No transfers of EC or items from my alt account into my main for the purposes of this project.
6) Any current free-to-acquire built-up resources are fair game (e.g.: Leftover Marks boxes; few slivers of Contraband; Summer & Winter Events’ currencies; Marks in Reps from which I don’t plan to buy anything more). This is “no additional cost,” not, “from 0.”

7) Each character only gets checked once per day. I’m doing 10 characters here and 5-7 on PlayStation, so I likely won’t have time to check either twice a day like I’d prefer to do.

There will be a few things I’ll intentionally try to do to get the most Dilithium in this 300-day span.

1) Contraband turn-ins on at least 3-4 characters per day (once enough Contraband from Marauding DOFF missions is earned and EC comes in from other sources).
2) Will run all Events for main prizes and their extra days for the bonus Dilithium.
3) Any characters not at Tier 6 Reputation will work toward Tier 6 in that Reputation(s).
4) Marks earned or already acquired in Tier 6 Reps will be converted to Dil at the end of each month.
5) Ferengi Tour of Duty will run constantly on all characters (50% bonus to Dil earnings up to 30,000 bonus Dil on the character). Characters not at Level 10 in an Admiralty track(s) will work on those, as well.
6) Universal and “Hard” Endeavors as often as is possible, limit 1 Reroll per day on Hard Endeavors.
7) I’ll make a new Delta Recruit (once available) I’d planned for since November – Federation, using a 2409 Fed Level Boost from the Legendary Vesta Bundle (which I’d already purchased and have no other use for, so this is more a time skip of a few days).
8) Contraband farming on 5 KDF-aligned characters, as I’m unsure what kind of EC income I can pull for buying Contraband.

There will be a few things I feel I can’t directly control over a practically full year of this experiment that would individually be minor amounts of currencies but ultimately be a decent fraction of all income:

1) Extra TFOs/Battlezone runs (to test a build or complete an Endeavor).
2) Dil earnings from Admiralty missions (can range from 0 to 2,000).
3) Leftover Zen from other purchase(s) through the year.
4) “Easy” and “Medium” Endeavor rewards.
5) Pre-January unclaimed Rep projects.
6) Pre-January unclaimed Endeavor reward boxes found on alts.
7) Dil earned from the actual TFOs of any Event.
8) Dil earned from Admiralty level-up rewards.
9) Dil earned from Episode completions.

NUMBER CRUNCH: CAN I MAKE IT IN 300 DAYS (as of 1/1/2023)?

So, I’m going to employ about 10 characters on my main PC account to do this.

I wouldn’t bore you with the calculations, but I’m kind of light on pictures to share, so here you are!

Assuming I don’t use my current Zen or Dilithium hoards, with 10 characters going, I’d need about 1,500 Dilithium per character per day to keep things humming along for 300 days.

If I use up my Dil reserves (~2,000 Zen worth), here are the calculations:

The numbers don’t change too much, down ~350 Dilithium per day. I’m not factoring in my current Zen balance as I’ll be using that to hopefully bring down the real cost of the anticipated 13th Anniversary Bundle.

WHY YOU SHOULD CARE

With the Dilithium Exchange the way it is (last known to take ~32 days to clear a sale of Dilithium for Zen), I wanted to see if I could get to a 14,750 balance without needing to put in additional cash if I plan my final exchange correctly (for IMSA or F1 fans, it’s like back-calculating a race from the end of the race to when the first pit stop should be, all depending on when the last pit stop is).

If I can pull it off, this series can help your basic strategies, too! So I’ll be chronicling what it takes to get there. Once every week or two, I’ll post an update on how my Dilithium earnings seem to be going and how I’ve mostly gotten there (like, “Contraband farming was solid, but Admiralty income was kind of low,” not an earnings-by-earnings play-by-play of the whole week or two), if I seem to be on track, can take it easy or need to ramp up production, etc.

I’m hoping to have a good idea of how feasible this is by March. I’ve tried projects like this before and burnt myself out, but seeing metrics and if I’m making progress helps keep me motivated, so who knows? If I’m able to make anything good out of this for you, then it’s been a helpful series.

UP NEXT: Testing a 2-hangar ship that’s not a 3/3.

Next up on my plans for posting is testing at least one carrier-style ship that’s not a 3/3 weapons setup to see how much difference an extra two weapons makes. Now that we know the Seneca/Hiawatha can perform adequately, I feel it’s a foregone conclusion that anything more (4/3, 4/4, etc.) will definitely perform better. But how much in my hands (which yes, doesn’t mean a lot, but I’m also not a high-end DPS player, which is who this is meant for)? Find out later this week (with any luck)!

Until then, enjoy STO and have a great New Year!

Join the Conversation

6 Comments

  1. Hello and thanks for an interesting challange, I hope that it’s not gonna burn You during it’s run. I’m considering something similar, but I’ll probaly go in a bit different way – I have maxed out all reps on almost all of my toons and have spare marks (easy to freplace from patrols or events) so I’ll probably run daily of each rep – daily income of dil from all 13 reps is 4420 at cost of +/- 200k of EC and 15 marks, than I’ll add to the mix daily ‘Staging Area’ on new Romulus for another 2000 of dilithium and for the rest of the daily will be acquired from contraband admirality or doff misions. I have like 13 characters so it should be enought. Also it’s kinda strange to play this game nowdays not for fun or spending time in immersive environment but to beat the ‘cash to zen’ system 😉

    Like

    1. Glad to see you taking on a similar challenge in a more active way!

      I personally have to have a goal to reach to make playing anything worth the time. In lieu of a Battle Pass-style system, this is as close as I can figure. Plus, I like themes over meta, and this gives me a way to try to grab 1 thematic bundle without needing to put out the cash for it…hopefully!

      However, my time is limited, so I need to stick to more “click and go” systems in order to make headway, the advantage to that being it doesn’t take long to get through a handful of characters. If I find I have a few minutes left at the end of a day, I can then go for an Endeavor (or double up with an Event if an Endeavor can be done during an Event’s TFO or story mission run. 😉 ).

      Likely I’ll start feeling burnt out quickly, but I’m hoping the numbers coming up decent will give me the push to keep going.

      Good luck with your attempt at this style of challenge! 🙂 If you remember this at some point in the year, I’d be interested in hearing your progress!

      Like

      1. That’s an interesting idea 🙂 I’ve prepared today spread sheet in Excel for all my toons and their ammount of dil, refined per day dil, consumed per day etc. so If I somehow manage to do these refining continuously (at least mostly) there should be some interesying data to share. At moment Im starting with 304705 of refined dilithium (which include 97005 dil of todays refining from my 13 toons) and 30 Zen’s. Not sure If I manage to keep daily refinment on 8k on each of the toons since not all of them have decent (or even any) supply of dilithium ore but we will see, Red Alert event is coming so I might have some spare time during next weekend to buff up rep marks reservoir 🙂

        As per game itself I’ve give up some time ago DPS chasing – it was totally ruining those remnants of joy that this game can still offer and I went a similar as you wrote above – towards thematic builds. Its suprising how good some of them could perform while still looks good and having as much as it is possible lore friendly setup.

        Anyway my target is ‘Mudd’s Into Darknes Bundle’ hopefully this year attempt will be succesfull 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started