Hello, Joe and STOers! While I’m busy getting builds worked on for the 13th Anniversary Ship Review series (thanks again to all who supported it!), I figured I’d get at least a rough update on how my “Grand Experiment” is going.

This isn’t going to be fancy or well-formatted, but I hope it offers enough insight to how things went.

Week 6 update.

* Number of characters that refined a full week’s Dilithium (56,000): 12

* That makes the math fairly easy for a minimum 672,000 Dilithium.

* Grand total is actually 720,560 Dilithium.

* Characters still with 1 week of Dilithium: 1

Not much different than what’s been reported previously. Admiralty week is gone, but this week starts up Bonus Dilithium for F2P runners of the Anniversary Event. I’m sure a few characters will have 8,000 for a day or two at a time, but nothing like the Admiralty Event of the past week combined with quite a few Admiralty Campaign Level 10 hits.”

Week 7 update.

* 3 characters hit Level 10 in an Admiralty Campaign. Normally worth 30,000 with a Dilithium Bonus Pool, a Dilithium Bonus Weekend bumped that to 45,000 for a single character. Two characters have taken advantage for a total of 120,000 Dilithium. A decent portion of that will go into next week’s refining.

* The 13th Anniversary Event has gone into extra days. That’s been worth 12,000 + 13,500 + 15,000 + 16,500 + 18,000 + 19,500 = 94,500 Dilithium. Most of that should be refineable (thus, listable) for this week as I’ve spread the earnings across characters with both the highest Dilithium Pool and smallest backlog of Dilithium Ore to refine.

–> For next week, Saturday through the end of the Event, should bring 21k+ per day. That should total up to ~148,500, some requiring the need for Week 9 to refine.

* Characters that got a full week’s worth of refinement (8,000 per day): 7, over half the characters.

* Characters that have enough backlog currently for 1 week: 1

* Week’s total Dilithium: 614,608

* Week’s equivalent Zen: 1,229 Zen with a leftover 108 Dilithium.

This week started a Dilithium Bonus Weekend. That means my Admiralty and Duty Officer missions will award an extra 50% Dilithium…and this is before my Dilithium Bonus Pools kick in! This means Contraband turn-ins, that have a base of 2,000 Dilithium as a reward and would have awarded 3,000 with a Dilithium Bonus Pool, now award 4,500 Dilithium per turn-in. Realizing this, I’ve turned my KDF characters into 2-day Contraband turn-in characters (would have been 3, but I didn’t realize this until late Friday). That’s 13 characters getting 3,000 – 4,500 Dilithium per day for a couple days, so that could amount to 117,000 Dilithium. It likely won’t as I think a couple characters have little/no Dilithium Bonus Pool left, but close to 100,000 Dilithium instead of “only” around 40,000 in the same amount of time is too good to pass up.

Currently, I’ve either sold or have on offer about 7,157 Zen worth of Dilithium on the Dilithium Exchange. Of the original goal of 8,750 Zen, I’m 1,594 Zen short, which is ~797,000 Dilithium. Considering that, for the past 4 weeks, I’ve been able to sell ~600,000 Dilithium per week, so I could be within a week or two of finishing this project at the original amount! YAY!

More specifically, I need ~797,000 more Dilithium. For the past 4 weeks, I’ve been able to list ~600,000 Dilithium per week, so even at 2/3rds that amount, I’ll be done by Week 9. Then, after that’s done and the 13th Anniversary Bundle ship reviews are done, we’ll see if I continue to the full ~14,750 Zen (I’m working from memory, so if that’s wrong, it’s only off by a few hundred Zen).

I’ve tried to do a “tip of the update” for Dilithium farming. For this update, it’s this: Watch how close you are to your goal. At some point, getting Dilithium on characters with little to no refining backlog and no Dilithium Bonus pool trumps getting the maximum amount of Dilithium on a character that has a Dilithium bonus pool but has several days’ worth of Dilithium backlogged. I’d say once you’re within a week or two of your goal as-is, start using other characters to run Events for Bonus Dilithium or for Contraband to speed up the process, even if only by a day or two.

Again, sorry for the lack of formatting, pictures, etc. I hope the ship reviews make up for the lack of cleanup and detail.

Until then, continue enjoying STO!

Join the Conversation

5 Comments

  1. Hello sorry for not giving livesigns for longer time, but after 6th of February I’ve taken a week of spare time from STO (just to keep sanity from this grinding 😉 ) That day I have also put my first equivalent of 5k of dilithium (2500000 units) to exchange so we will see how long will it take to seel them. From what I can see is that this ammount of dilithium should be within a reach even on 10 toons if done daily with 8k refinemnt per toon but this would require a lot of self discipline, without any days-off or dil spended on other things. Other than that I’m working on converting my spreadsheet made for this endeavour to more coherent form so it should be ready for the next update 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t been doing great about updating, either, so all’s good! I’m glad things are coming along well. Just don’t burn yourself out! If you need to take some time off, do it. The grind feel is real. While free is nice, I think your ideal first goal will be to get within X,000 Zen so you can pay out the rest of it at a reasonable cost. *THEN* if you feel like continuing, you can further reduce that or even eliminate it to be truly free money-wise.

      I look forward to seeing how you organize data if you’re up for sharing it! 🙂

      Like

      1. No worries I don’t intend to cripple myself thank’s to computer game (that in theory should be played for fun, not as a second job 😉 ), also from dilithium to zen grind perpsective this game does not hold much to whole idea of Star Trek except maybe the visual asspect and some story arcs 😀 Last but not least yesterday those 2500000 dil were sold so I’m officialy having first 5000 Z earned from ‘playing’ the game, and what is also worth to mention it take only 18 days from posting to selling. As per future plans I’ll try to keep it up as much as I can but without burning myself out, but I’ll stick to the idea of buying whole bundle for ‘hard earned’ Zen 🙂

        ps. I’ve finally converted spreadsheet I’m using to Google dosc standard so here it is: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1CxmEuUWgFiygHePEu2-zUfl8HEaxox4IrZFi6A3rcwU/edit?usp=sharing

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is an EXTREMELY detailed spreadsheet! It puts my skills to shame. All I’ve done is convert my overall Zen need to Dil needed, spread that over a time span, and as I got close I started to track individual characters.

        Sometimes the reward, to me, is in the numbers: can I make this work, and how quickly if so?

        So far…pretty quickly! lol. 🙂

        Like

      3. Thanks for kind words, and don’t underplay Yourself, I’ve just have that quirk that I like to create overcomplicated spreadsheets and You are crerating all of that analytic content. I’ll certainly would have fall asleep at stage of gathering data 😉

        Also If You need any data to quote from my form feel free to use it (not sure if the message that I’ve sent along acknowleding access rights have reached you), I’ve made this spreadsheet that detailed to have a data in case I (or anybody else) want to run some analysis fe. what ammount of toons is optimal for dil refining to reach 5k of dilithium per month etc.

        As per results so far, I’d say that 10 toons are enought to reach equivalent of 5000 Zen in Dilithium per month, but with no other spending on upgrades and other things

        Also I can say from my experience that Zen earned in this way and things bought thank’s to that gives me more joy than those bought for cash. Since I’m close to score another 2,500000 units of refined dilithium I’m thinking about expanding goals for other ship bundles like ‘Mudd’s Stealing Time Choice Pack’, Mudd’s Fighter Choice Pack and 11th Aniversary Legendary bundle (I just need that Vorcha legendary varaint 😉 ). It maybe sounds a bit like the ‘Year of Hell’ but rewarding in the end 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started