Good afternoon, and welcome to Joe and STO!

I’m going to try something a little different with this post. When a regular release happens (Lockbox/Lobi/Promo ships, Promotional ships, traditional unlimited-availability C-Store ships), I tend to just post tweets about if what we’re getting is worth the asking price solely based on a value perspective.

That’s what I did with the new Support Carrier Bundle. While I had free time, I ran numbers, posted my thoughts to Twitter, read previews and reviews, and made some personal choices about my purchases.

I don’t do reviews, though. If you want reviews and comparisons, try CounterYolo, AugmentedDictatorGames, or Ri’Shad Shadowstar. I’d also recommend reading Auggie’s tweet thread about the ships.

Here, I’m going to embed tweets I’ve made on the value of the Bundle. It’s kind of an article on its own, but for some reason for me, posting Tweets is faster and easier than making blogs.

Don’t ask…they both require some effort and organization, but Twitter just seems more natural for me. ha ha.

Anyway, here we go!

NOTE: The initial tweets talking about value using 5 Master Keys are erroneous since they accidentally posted the initial blog with 5 Master Keys listed. However, because it was my reaction in real time, I’m leaving that set of tweets up.

NOTE 2: Since the time of this post, “Cross-Faction Flying” became a thing, meaning you really only “need” 1 ship from this. If you want more basically as costume options, have at it, and there are minor differences between the versions that may fit your play style better.

Then ZEFilms has to release his Fresh out of Spacedock video…

Some real talk about not worrying about missing the launch window’s 20% off sale:

So then, I come to my initial purchasing conclusion:

Then came the “bombshell” that the Support Carrier Bundle doesn’t have Master Keys in it. Suffice it to say, as much as I stay positive, I also have to call Cryptic out where they deserve to be called out:

That changed my valuation, and thanks to @KyuuContinuum replying to one of my first sets of tweets, I changed my value perspective a bit from being an old-school 3-ship Bundle to the newer 4-ship model of Bundles (though I’ll quickly add here that if we follow my 3-ship Bundle logic, the 20% price on the Support Carrier Bundle is a break-even: 6,000 Zen in ships + 2,000 Zen in Fleet Ship Modules [that you can grind out of Tier 6 Reputations, btw] = 8,000 Zen):

Along with the loss of Master Keys, I’d say Auggie’s review-in-a-tweet-thread posting sealed the deal for my main account…at least, for now.

So here’s the change of thought, and the proof I’ll support the “Year of Klingon.”

THIS TWEETY BIRD’S POOPED!

And that’s the week-long story of my, “article in Tweets.” For those who joined here from Twitter and follow me regularly, I apologize for the regurgitated “content.” For those who don’t follow me on Twitter, consider doing so. You have plenty of Twitter posts to click on and find my profile.

Have a great weekend, make the decision(s) that are best for you, and I’ll be back some time next week, hopefully with Part 3 of the Event Ships retrospective. 🙂

NOTE: Cover picture comes from the wallpaper put up by Cryptic, slightly modified by me…very, very amateurishly. ha ha. 🙂

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started